Fallout 3 (2008) review

I’m a little slow of the mark here really, but since I’ve recently finished it and I’m in need of something new to write about I thought why not! Who cares if I’m 6 years late?

Image

You are the “lone wanderer” you have been brought up in the safety of Vault 101 when one day your father decides to leave and head into the wastes created from the destruction of nuclear war, you’re forced into an unwelcoming harsh world and for the first time you have to fend for yourself.

There is a main quest line to follow, but if that isn’t enough for you there are side quests and a huge selection of areas which can be explored. I found the quests all enjoyable, although I personally didn’t find the story line as engaging as I would have liked, but this didn’t take away any of my enthusiasm to play it.

Fallout 3 gives you the option to be good, neutral or evil , this is usually determined by actions you make, this can affect the game in different ways, certain followers won’t join you if you have the wrong type of karma (if you have bad karma for example, someone who is good will not follow you).

The world is vast, there are many different places to explore such as massive stations which can be a good way to travel to new areas there are also towns, office blocks, destroyed buildings and much more. Quite a few of these areas do look the same (the metro stations for example) but that’s to be expected from such a large game.

Image

The combat is entertaining (and sometimes amusing) whether you want to go with melee, firearms grenades or just ridiculously huge rocket launchers. One of the big plus points of the combat system in Fallout 3 is V.A.T.S. (vault-tech targeting system) this allows you to target a specific area on your enemies, this also informs you of the expected damage and the chance of a hit. This feature also shows you your destruction up close and in slow motion which I have to say, never gets boring.

Unfortunately as you have more than likely heard/seen the game is constantly suffering from bugs and glitches, luckily this happened rarely to me and I’m pretty thankful for that, one issue that came up is that my companions had a habit of occasionally going missing.

This game is totally worth the time and effort I put into it and if you haven’t yet played it I suggest you go pick it up as soon as possible.

Rating 3.5/5

3 thoughts on “Fallout 3 (2008) review

    • Thanks! And yeah, I feel pretty ashamed it took me so long to play it. Yeah I didn’t put anything in about the voice acting but it was good, Ron Perlmans narrations were also pretty awesome, really sets the mood in the opening sequence.

Leave a Reply

