Tomb Raider 3 (1998) review

Okay this is kind of a review and kind of just me expressing my love for the game, I’m sorry I just really had to. enjoy!

tomb-raider-3-cd-front

 

This is the first computer game I ever actually came into contact with at the age of about 7 or 8, I think I pretty much fell in love and my obsession with gaming seemed to just take off from there. As well as my whole families obsession with Tomb Raider as we eagerly purchased the two previous installments and waited with anticipation for the games that followed.

I’ve played through the whole game many times and I’m in the middle of another play through at the moment, my feelings haven’t changed. By today’s standards, we know the graphics are not superior anymore, the dialog isn’t the best but y’know what? I don’t care, its as enjoyable to play now as it was the first time.

I even ended up buying a new version just so I could finally play the add on Tomb Raider 3: The Lost Artifact. Way too excited about getting to play some levels I’ve never seen before!

One thing that I love about Tomb Raider 3 is the diversity of locations, you travel through jungles in India, go to Nevada desert, adventure through London and go to the antarctic and the South Pacific which are lovely settings and completely different to look at making for some much more interesting game play, The most difficult area in my opinion is London, especially while underwater as the controls are a little more difficult and the movement more clunky

screen004

the game is actually fairly long really, levels last longer as you have to go backwards and forwards collecting any needed items to progress, although that might sound like a massive pain it really is enjoyable! And if you want to you can collect all the secrets in the game to access the bonus level at the end of the game (Which I’m actually doing on my play through at the moment).

The enemies in my opinion are not all that difficult but other players may feel differently, I can get through most of the game simply using the duel pistols. But if you feel the need for some more firepower there’s more to choose from such as shotguns, Uzis, grenade launcher desert eagles etc… which I tend use on the bosses. Although the enemies are not all that hard to beat, I still find myself jumping when one seems to come out of no where especially with the sudden loud and sharp noise which seems to also appear at the same time.

Although I personally don’t find Tomb Raider 3 tremendously difficult, new players to the series may, you are constantly doing something never really stopping. Sometimes finding where to go can be the hardest thing of all as you are never really told, you have to figure it out for yourself which is actually a positive for me, I don’t want to be guided through a game I want to find things out on my own, even after 2 previous play throughs I’m still having to think of where I am going and what I have to do to get there. Another point to mention is there can be difficult areas which you find you have to jump at some nearly impossible angles and make some ridiculous jumps but it can be done even if it takes several attempts and after a while you just get used to it.

One bad point is the amount bugs and glitches, these can be horrible things that stop you progressing, you have been warned, I had an issue of playing the whole of the first level and not being able get any further (the amount of times I’ve played through the whole India level is pretty ridiculous really) that can be a little frustrating.

It still manages to challenge me even though I’ve completed it before, I still look forward to finding time to get back to playing it, Tomb Raider 3 is an absolute classic in my opinion and I know far too many people who have never played it, so please do! You’re missing out on something really special.

7/10  

Leave a Reply

